NACTOY has announced the list of vehicles that are eligible for consideration for the North American Car and Truck/Utility of the Year Awards in 2017. The list includes 27 cars, 12 SUVs and four trucks.

To be eligible to receive the award, vehicles must be entirely new or substantially changed from the previous model. Award recipients are selected by 60 automotive journalists from the United States and Canada.

This year marks the first time that SUVs and minivans will be recognized with a separate distinction, in recognition of the growing market for format.

Winners of the 2017 awards will be announced at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit on January 9.

The 2016 award winners were the Honda Civic and Volvo XC90 SUV.

Vehicles eligible for 2017 North American Car, Truck and SUV of the Year


Acura NSX
Alfa Romeo Giulia
Audi A4
Audi R8
Bentley Mulsanne
Buick Cascada
Buick LaCrosse
Cadillac CT6
Chevrolet Cruze
Chevrolet Bolt
Fiat 124
Genesis G90
Hyundai Elantra
Infiniti Q60
Jaguar XE
Kia Cadenza
Lincoln Continental
Mercedes-Benz E-Class sedan
Mercedes-Benz S550 Maybach
Mercedes-Benz SL-Class
Mercedes-Benz SLC-Class
Mini Clubman
Mitsubishi Mirage/G4
Porsche 718 Boxster and Cayman
Rolls-Royce Dawn
Toyota Prius Prime
Volvo S90


Audi Q7
Bentley Bentayga
Buick Envision
Cadillac XT5
Chrysler Pacifica
GMC Acadia
Infiniti QX30
Kia Sportage
Mercedes-Benz GLS-Class
Jaguar F-Pace
Mazda CX-9
Nissan Armada


Ford F-series Super Duty pickups
Ford F-150 Raptor
Honda Ridgeline
Nissan Titan light-duty